Truckin Magazine
Item Posts    Sort Order

starting a project on 1995 Suburban 350

mike1866 mike1866
New User | Posts: 2 | Joined: 03/13
Posted: 03/25/13
04:17 PM

Hello everyone and suburban fans, this is my first time posting here,

I am starting a project for my father while he is away for the rest of the year. The project is a 1995 Suburban 350 4x4 4L60-E trans. Overall idea is to increase the mileage on this monster. He loves his Suburban and he already got a paint job and interior re-done on the vehicle and it's garage kept.

What I want to do before he gets home from work later this year is to:
Swap water pump to electric water pump, who has the best one with most gph?
Dual Electric fans, who has the market corned in this?
Larger Alternator to handle the currents, I've heard of Powermaster, any one have thoughts?
Insert a auxiliary battery, has anyone done this one? Mostly interested in this.
New intake, K/N, AirRaid, which one works best for a TBI 350?
New exhaust, he likes it quiet (OEM style, but something that lets the suburban breathe better, any good brands for this concept?.
And a electric air condition, no idea where to start on this but its a thought.

I figure the more I take off the serpentine belt loop the less draw it is on the motor increasing hp and mpg. The suburban gets 17 mpg as it is would like to get it up to 25 to 30 mpg by years end.
Would like to start ordering parts so please let me know about other sites made for suburban, and other threads on this site of course.

Thanks Mike.  

waynep712222 waynep712222
New User | Posts: 9 | Joined: 03/13
Posted: 03/29/13
08:03 AM

What I want to do before he gets home from work later this year is to:

Swap water pump to electric water pump, who has the best one with most gph?   NOPE.

Dual Electric fans, who has the market corned in this?   Possible. but requires more electrical power from the alternator

Larger Alternator to handle the currents, I've heard of Powermaster, any one have thoughts?